On the Subject of Our Value in Christ

 Redeeming LoveI have very little to say about this book but freakin’ awesome and INSANE pretty much sums it up.  You must know that I hate modern romance books but Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers (an allegory of the book of Hosea) ROCKED MY WORLD! The story is set during gold rush days and I absolutely ate it up!  It was loaned to me and I opened it reluctantly but finished the story in 3 sittings …and I bought my own copy AFTER reading it!

Among my favorite authors, C.S. Lewis and Frank Peretti, Francine Rivers finds good company!

Link up your own favorite at 5 Minutes for Books

12 Comments

Filed under Book Blab, Twenty Something

12 responses to “On the Subject of Our Value in Christ

  1. Well, hey newby! Thanks for joining in!

    I just picked up this book based on a world of positive recommendations and am looking forward to getting to it!

    Thanks for linking up!

  2. I’m not familiar with this book, but it’s certainly on my radar now! Thanks for sharing your thoughts on it.

  3. sjbraun

    I’ve read and enjoyed others by Rivers, so I’ll add this to my list. Thanks for the recommendation!

  4. I’ve got my first Francine Rivers novel on my TBR pile right now–A Voice in the Wind. I’ve heard nothing but great things about her, so I’m looking forward to reading some of her books. 🙂

  5. Francine Rivers is definitely a new favorite of mine. Katy, I will look for your review on A Voice in the Wind.

  6. I agree. This is a wonderful book. Thanks for linking up at 5 Minutes for Books!

  7. This book is on my all time favorite book list. Have you read her Mark of the Lion series? Excellent.

    • No not yet. This was my first F.Rivers. I immediately bought A Lineage of Grace but I want to read the Mark of the Lion series. I am excited because my boys’ names are Bible names and I believe her books introduce us to at least one of my boys’ name sake. 🙂

  8. Hmm–you may have sold me! I also am not really a fan of romance, but have heard great things about this one.

    • I wish I could loan you my copy 🙂 I totally agree with you on the romance thing. They are usually so formulaic and sappy. This book is very unexpected. Are you familiar with Hosea? Since the story is first, God’s story, it is about a love that I think most can not understand and therefore the story is crazy in that regard. It definitely threw me for a loop.

  9. Pingback: 10 Things I Hate About Books « Blog Schmog

  10. Pingback: 10 Things I Hate About Books | Blog Schmog

Leave a Reply

