Weeping Skies

 

“Peace I leave with you;
My peace I give to you;
not as the world gives do I give to you.
Do not let your heart be troubled,
nor let it be fearful.”

John 14:27 NASB

 

Have you ever seen the sky weep?

My memory verses this past couple weeks are in the Psalms. 

Psalm 19 1-4

The Heavens declare the glory of God; The skies proclaim the work of His hands.

Day after day they pour forth speech; Night after night they display knowledge.

There is no speech or language where their voice is not heard.

Their voice goes out into all the earth; Their words to the ends of the world.

As I sit in my window seat I have a good view of the sky and valley below.  The sky has been turbulent, soggy and gray.  The more I look, the worse it gets.  Clouds roll in, wind rips at the trees.  What’s with that?

Lord, where is your “speech” where is your magnificent glory and peace? I look out again at the pummeling rain and my brow furrows in frustration, loneliness, fear.

Am I forgotten? Lord are you listening?

I feel no comfort in the verses because my answer does not look the way I expect it to look.  I expect the King on his throne evidenced by glimmering stars by night and grand billowing clouds amid brilliant blue skies by day.  Sound familiar?  Others have expected Jesus to take his throne, deliver them from trials and conquer the world.  Instead this is what I see.

Weeping Skies

Slowly the rippled gray clouds creep across the furrowed sky.

They speak of sorrow, they speak of pain.

A thick haze collects atop a once prominent mountain peak,

Her glory disguised, her magnificence squelched.

How then does splendor give such power to a small vapor?

Slowly gray clouds grow heavy and being to tear.

They speak not for the pain they bear,

Yet they speak volumes of the sorrow they share.

Shreds rip free from beneath that billowing mass.

No mountain now, her head is covered in grief.

Proud trees stand aghast.

Her glory disguised under torrents let loose the weeping skies.

 It finally hit me… 

Jesus wept. 

Now I see the sky’s conversation.  I remember Adonai Yireh “the One who sees” and I begin to understand.  He felt the crushing power of grief,  He knew the awesome power sorrow holds.  Jesus, Adonai Yireh.  As I speak the name aloud a cold shudder creeps from my toes to the top of my head then an overwhelming warmth follows.  I know that he knows.  Today my mountain is still disguised but now I realize she still stands beneath the rain.

That is peace, not of the world.  Its knowing that the crushing power of life cannot wash away the mountain when you stand in Christ alone.

Today’s In Other Words hosted by Typing One Handed!

Please visit her lovely blog for more inspiration on true Peace.

13 Comments

Filed under Faith First

13 responses to “Weeping Skies

  1. Jessie, this is soooo beautiful. May I print a copy for my refrigerator? I may just carry it in my wallet to read when I forget the big picture. Thank you for participating today.

  2. Oh my, what a joy it was to read your post! You have inspired me to get serious about my return to my creative life . . . .which I have for so many months had to leave behind. I am so glad that you have joined the IOW family ;o) I have been away for quite a while, and I am so glad to be back for the fellowship and encouragement. Thank you and may you have a blessed day! Nina @ mamas*little*treasures

  3. “Its knowing the crushing power of life can’t sweep us away.” That was a great ending to a wonderful post. That was a great description of what God’s peace means to us.

  4. I too am glad that you are participating in IOW. You have a lovely way with words. And thank you for sharing about Adonai Yireh – The One Who Sees. This name for God speaks to me in a most poignant way this week. Thank you.

    “That is peace, not of the world. Its knowing that the crushing power of life cannot wash away the mountain when you stand in Christ alone.”

    These are powerful words – definitely worth reflecting on a bit more.

    Denise 🙂

  5. You guys are so kind! 🙂 I am thanking the Lord for giving me an outlet for my wordy ways, a voice and the feedom to point to Him. Thank the Lord you find encouragement through me, from HIM!

  6. “I feel no comfort in the verses because my answer does not look the way I expect it to look.”
    How well I know this feeling! Looking for the answer expected and finding no peace at all. But… your last sentence, your definition of peace, clarifies it all. What a beautiful word picture and reflection. I am so blessed that you participated today. Thank you!

  7. You certainly have a way with words! I’ve found myself writing down a few quotes from this week’s meme in my journal including this one of yours:

    “Its knowing that the crushing power of life cannot wash away the mountain when you stand in Christ alone.”

    AMEN to that!

    Blessings,
    Debbie

  8. The mood of your writing is gloomy as I begin…but the picture you paint becomes clearer and clearer — much like our walk with Jesus! We grow in knowledge and understanding and grace…
    Once you’ve read this through — and then again — and then absorb it more — there is no gloom! The PEACE that Christ Jesus offers us has NOTHING to do with the physical aspects that we’ve assigned with our puny human brains.

    I LOVE THIS IOW Post! Excellent writing.
    Glad you’ve joined IOW!
    ~esthermay

    • I’m glad you kept reading and found the promise out of the storm. 🙂 It was a very gloomy day when I wrote this and I’ve been struggling with God through some very gloomy circumstances but He is bigger than all that, isn’t He!

  9. He knows. He hears. He sees. You make me sigh.

  10. Jessie, what beautiful words. Thank you so much for the insights within this post.

    I came here because of your comment on my blog, Forensics and Faith. Thank you for that. In your comment you mentioned you’d just contacted me on Facebook, but I see no record of a message from you. Don’t want you to think I’m ignoring you.

    Blessings on your day. Thank you again for writing this post.

  11. purplemoose

    Wow! Love it!

Leave a Reply

