My Own Violet Dawn

Violet Dawn (Kanner Lake Series #1) Deliciously creepy and yet mysteriously full of hope. 

What I enjoy about Brandilyn Collins is her candid approach to life, tragedy and hope.  Not only the “queen of suspense,” she is personable and a wonderful teacher.  Using the “rules” I learned from a blog tutorial on Forensics and Faith– Brandilyn’s popular blog, I will attempt to write a review of my first christian crime novel experience.

**************

Creepy describes the book Violet Dawn but so does heartwarming.  How can these both be true?  Brandilyn writes a heart pumping, edge of your seat novel that keeps you guessing all the way to the end.

Tucking my toes under a warm blanket I ran my fingers over the slick cover of my new book.  The 1st in the Kanner Lake series.  The wood stove crackled as it emitted pillows of warmth. Sniffing the pages I peered around the room.  The kids had been in bed for an hour but after a stunt like that I had to be sure.  I didn’t want anyone to see me smelling a book.  

Empty.  Not a soul in sight.  

Sucking in my breath I inclining my ear toward the bedroom.  I could hear light snoring coming from the darkened room where my husband slept.  I exhaled.   Expecting a leisurely tour through the streets of a sleepy little town modeled after my own beloved Coeur d’Alene I huddled lower in my chair and opened to the first chapter.

A gust of wind slammed into the living room window.  I jolted.  Heart pumping.  A murder.  An unfortunate set up.  The window rattled as the night unleashed one of Idaho’s grand storms.  Rain pelting the house.  A shiver crept up my spine and I yanked the fuzzy blanket to my chin.  Wild eyed I held my breath.  Is it him? 

Thump thump.  Thump thump.  I could hear my heart pounding in my head.  Curling my fists around the blanket I held them to my throat trying to muffle the drumming? 

The fire had gone cold as I read.  I’d forgotten my own reality.  My mind began to come around to the present.  Kids sleeping in their beds.  My own violet dawn fast approaching.  How long have I been here?  The clock chimed once.  Just a storm. Just the wee hours of the morning!

reading

CLICK ME

Needless to say I thoroughly enjoyed the book.  Three sittings are all it took to get to the end and yet the story is still with me. 

Through terrifying circumstances Paige Williams learned about God’s grace, hope and true friendship.  These books are not for the faint of heart!

Click the picture at right to read my tutorial “How to Read a Brandilyn Collins Novel”.

7 Comments

Filed under Book Blab, Twenty Something

7 responses to “My Own Violet Dawn

  1. Did you know she’s going to be in WA in May? http://nwchristianwriters.org/renew_lineup.html

    The Northwest Christian Writers’ Association is bringing her in for a two day seminar.

    I love her blog, but I am too chicken to read her books. I don’t like being scared. 🙂

  2. Thanks for the heads-up! Going to reserve them at my liberry. (That’s how we say it at our house.) 🙂

  3. I love the book reviews you give! This is a book I MUST get! Thank you for introducing me to this author! Loved the pic too! Great sense of humor you have!!

  4. Pingback: Eyes of Elisha Review « Blog Schmog

  5. Pingback: 10 Things I Hate About Books « Blog Schmog

Leave a Reply

