Random Dozon – Thanksgiving Edition

SERIOUSLY why didn’t anyone tell me I spelled DOZEN wrong!?  I guess if you read my answers first you’d be afraid to bring it up.  ACK  I’m going to leave it and say TYPO but you probably won’t believe me. 🙂  ENJOY

Linda at 2nd Cup of Coffee comes up most of the questions for the Random Dozen meme which is usually done Wednesdays each week.  This week due to Thanksgiving she is bumping the meme up to Tuesday!  Check out her blog by clicking the picture below and write your own Random Dozen post answering the following prompt questions.

1. Are you sticking to traditional Thanksgiving foods this year, or are you being culinarily adventurous?  I’m so on top of it I didn’t even realize Thanksgiving is this week I thought I had one more weekend.  Since I just got my hog meat back I’m betting I’ll do a pork roast which is not normal for us.

2. Tell me something concrete that you’re thankful for. (Something you can literally touch, see, etc., not a concept like “hope.”) A laptop and highspeed internet. Is that vain?  I know its hillbilly but we went three years without high speed internet two of which I didn’t have any internet at all.  It is fun to keep in touch, research and blog!

3. You knew the flip side was coming: Share about something intangible that you’re thankful for.  Oh right! Now I’m stuck.  World Peace, oh wait do we have that?  Ok for real I’m thankful that God is teaching me compassion.

4. Share one vivid Thanksgiving memory. It doesn’t have to be deep or meaningful, just something that remains etched in your memory. Last year my boys and I made a craft where each family members face was made into a pilgrim.  But… I had a picture of my grandma from her 80th with a cigar in her mouth.  Naturally she got to be the Indian.  It was great fun.

5. What is one thing that you know beyond a shadow of a doubt is going to happen this Thanksgiving because it always does, year after year?  SNOW

6. Do your pets get any left-overs? I’m hard nosed I guess, I rarely feed table scraps to the animals (uness its pigs) but my hubby will cave and sneak the dogs some I’m sure of it.

7. Does your family pray before the big meal? If so, do you join hands while seated, stand, repeat a formal prayer or offer a spontaneous prayer? Who does the praying?  Yes we pray, usually holding hand, standing or sitting whatever suits our fancy and one of the dad’s generally thanks God for the food. 

8. Will you be watching football in the afternoon? If not, what will you be doing?  No remember the hillbillies?  We don’t have a converter box so its almost painful to watch all the fuzz on the one channel we get.  Definitely no football here.

9. There are two distinct camps of people on this issue: How do you feel about oysters in the dressing/stuffing?  OYSTERS!!  What are Oysters Mae?  Um NO NO NO!

10. Do you consider yourself informed about the first Thanksgiving? Well didn’t Charlie brown learn about thankfulness and serve his friends popcorn at the first Thanksgiving? Or was it Pocohontas who served popcorn?  Yeah I think I know about the first Thanksgiving.

11. Which variety of pie will you be enjoying? Humble pie.  Pie pie, glorious pie. Unless I get cracking and make gluten free crusts we’ll be having apple cobbler or pie filling for desert.

12. Do you feel for the turkey?? (This is a humorous throw back question related to the 12th question in another Random Dozen!What do you think?  See THIS post.

Thanks again guys I’ve enjoyed participating in yet another Random Dozen, have a Happy Thanksgiving!

17 Comments

Filed under Random, Reality, Ruse

17 responses to “Random Dozon – Thanksgiving Edition

  1. thelumberjackswife

    Ha! Love the Grandma Indian with the cigar!

  2. ROFLMBO! I love this! No ‘possum? Jist whut kin’ o’ vittles are you fixin’ mama? LOL! And the Granny Indian! LOL! I just love it!
    At least your family PRAYS! Even in the hills, ya know who’s in charge!

    have a GLORIOUS Thanksgiving — whatever you eat!

    • Hahahaha! I have had the strangest couple of days I’m in a mood in case you couldn’t tell and just now when I reread my post after your comment I recognized several MORE hickish comments I made without even knowing it. Well, I guess if the shoe fits right!

      For the record, I don’t feet pig to the dogs, I feed scraps to the pigs AND don’t normal, non-hillbillly people eat roast for Thanksgiving!? At least I know where mine came from. 😉

      Ok, I love your comment. Funny, funny! I’m not as hillbilly as it sounds though. Yeah right says they…

  3. LOL to the grandma with the cigar Indian! Too funny. Enjoyed reading your answers. Happy Thanksgiving.

  4. skoots1mom

    fun answers…enjoy your holiday!!

  5. Kim

    We are fellow hillbillies 🙂
    Since I’m living with slow internet these days and still remember with fondness and longing the high speed that was mine in the states, I can relate to your answer to #2. *sigh*
    SNOW?! Even though we lived in Michigan we couldn’t count on snow for Thanksgiving so you must be farther north. (I’m still adjusting to Thanksgiving and Christmas being in summer here. We usually have asados (barbques) for Christmas and New Year’s because who wants to turn the oven on when it’s ninety eleven degrees? Altho I am utilizing the crock pot more these days. Made a cuban pork roast last week. How will you be making your pork roast?
    Enjoyed your answers very much 🙂 I think we know about the same for #10. lol Actually I learned more while homeschooling my kids than I ever did in school.

    • Yes yes, to the learning while homeschooling. I’m also learning more about history from Lynn Austin and Francine Rivers than I did from any text book. Terrible I know! My husband would faint. He is a history buff and public school teacher. 🙂

  6. Amy

    Love #10 didn’t we all learn about Halloween, Christmas, and Thanksgiving from the Peanuts gang. Just love it!!! I am an Iowan trapped in the body of a girl living in California…I miss the things you speak of…sometimes even the…dare I say it…SNOW!!!

    And I think cigar smokin’ Granny Indian would be a staple in my Thanksgiving decorations!!

    Love your blog…thanks for visiting mine.

    Amy

  7. Hey over here from the Random Dozen meme. Loved your answers. The idea of the pic with your Grandma and the cigar cracked me up. I love it that you are going to do the pork for T’giving. that’s a great thing. 🙂

  8. I think you’ve just reminded me why I moved away … When I was a kid we received one TV station, and then only if someone held on to the rabbit ears, stood on one foot, stuck their tongue out, and held absolutely still.

    I have a great pecan & herb crusted pork roast recipe if you want to give it a try. Any nut allergies?

  9. Loved your answers…Grandma with the cigar is classic : )

    Enjoy your pork roast and pie filling…sounds good to me!

  10. You are amazing! I just started reading these, and I don’t see how anyone is going to follow this! LOVED it!

  11. Your are cracking me up!! Love your answers! Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

