Random Dozen – Dec. 9

Come play Random Dozen, hosted by Lid at 2nd Cup of Coffee!

 

1. Which physical trait do you now accept–maybe not love, but accept–and no longer feel extremely self-conscious about? A chickenpox scar on my nose.  Actually my husbands says its cute. 🙂

2. This week Meredith Baxter Birney, best known as the mom on the favorite 80s sitcom “Family Ties” came out of the closet, which led me to formulate this question: Who do you think is/was the best TV mom?  Rozanne.  I don’t know it was the first thing that came to mind when you mentioned coming out of the closet, sorry!

3. Do you speak any foreign languages? Are there any you’d like to learn?  Some Japanese.  More Spanish.  Respectively.

4. Who is your personal hero?  My dad

5. What is one holiday food that you find extremely difficult to resist over- indulging in? Mashed potatoes and gravy.  Go figure, I’m a starch aholic.

6. Tell me about a Christmas decoration that has special meaning or sentimental value.  See pictures in this post.

7. How do you feel about snow?  Sure cleans up my yard.  Even when toys and random junk is laying around you wouldn’t know it!  I love the seasons, without them (when I lived in a one season state) you can’t appreciate what you have.

8. On average, how many hours of sleep do you get each night? Not that I’m jealous of any number over three or anything.  It depends if its time for random dozen 😉  Usually 6 unless the babies wake up.

9. Tell me about your first crush.  My horse.  Second crush?  A boy with a car who could drive me to where I kept my horse. Hehe!

10. You’re stuck in a room for 2 hours with only a chalkboard and chalk. What will you write/draw?  I wish it wasn’t chalk, I’m getting all creepy just thinking about that sound!  I love to draw but I don’t think I can do it.  I pass!  Icky chalkboard.

11. Do you dress for the current temp or for the day’s forecast? Well, since in my neck of the woods they say “Don’t like the weather?  Wait 5 minutes.” I think it is wisest to plan for anything and not rely on the “weather guessers” as Thing One calls them.  I’m going to have to go with NEITHER.  I layer and take extra clothes just in case, even in July,  I’ve seen snow in July!

12. Favorite Christmas movie is?  Bah Humbug.   I think that’s my mantra this month anyway.

16 Comments

Filed under Random, Reality, Ruse

16 responses to “Random Dozen – Dec. 9

  1. #5- I’m a starchaholic too, and it seems this time of year I get my fill of it in buckets! But I love it.

    #11 I’m with your son on the “weather guessers” can you believe one of our local forecasters where I live actually wrote about the El Nino weather pattern and said “we could see snow sometime between November and March”, uh ya think? It’s called winter.

  2. Yummm starches. Snow in July…being from a state that does not see much snow at all I would be happy with that 😉

  3. Kim

    I’m having a hard time getting into the Christmas spirit too. I think I will get out the Christmas CDs and see if that helps. Still adjusting to Christmas in the southern hemisphere and it being HOT.

    Hadn’t thought about the sound chalk makes until I saw what you responded to #10. Yikes! Now I really need to get out the Christmas CDs to get that screeching sound out of my head! lol

  4. I love mashed potatoes and gravy and the holidays are the only time when I go to the trouble of making “real” ones!

  5. I love your honesty about the crush on a boy — only with a purpose! Very funny!

    Love your blog. When I have some more time (like in the next life), I’ll come back to browse.

  6. gcbro

    Rosanne….really?!?!? lol at #10 🙂

  7. thelumberjackswife

    I have never understood people’s weirdness with chalkboards?
    What’s the big deal?! 🙂

  8. I clicked your Christmas ornament link. Love your real tree and I have to totally admit that I have never ever seen some of those ornaments and definitely don’t know anyone with them. :v)

  9. This is my first time participating in this meme. The whole weather thing would drive me up the wall….especially since I like to layer as little as possible!

  10. I bet that horse broke your heart less than those yucky boys did…

    Great answers

    Amy

  11. Roseanne! Yeah — that’s what I was thinking, but I didn’t put it because I was pretty sure my friends would give me a ration for it!

    I don’t care for chalkboards and I am a teacher! I think if it hadn’t been for whiteboards I would have had to make a whole different career choice!

  12. Snow in July? Wow. So true about it cleaning up the yard, my missed leaves and such. I’m a starchaholic too. Yum.

Leave a Reply

