FAB Friday – How mom got slimed and a smoothie to plump up baby

FAB as in Fu-get ABout it!

FAB in the “Fabulous I’m getting another cup of coffee before I tie myself to a rocket headed for the moon” kind of Friday.  Is there anyone out there that can relate? 

The FAB Friday carnival started as a way for moms, grandmas or dad bloggers to share the triumphs and trials of parenting.  Write a funny, inspirational or encouraging post with or without pictures and add your name to Mister Linkey at the bottom of my post on Friday’s.

 Lets make lemonade out of lemons!

This is an older post from my Gluten Free blog but it is such a popular search that I decided to move it over for FAB Friday.  Maybe it’s the potato soup recipe to feed an army that originally went with it that gets people to click or maybe it is my rave sense of humor.   If you just want the recipe click here.

****************

Well, as always I had a bit of fun this week and my darling Thinglets never disappoint. 

Little Pee Wee has been chowing down her twice daily “bulk up” baby smoothie.  It’s a mixture of avocado and banana with goat milk or water and looks exactly like Nickelodeon SLIME.  

[ Addition…BABY BULK UP SMOOTHIE:  If you need your infant to gain weight by eating healthy fats this is an excellent balanced option.  In Hawaii, avocado is the first food given to babies- they will usually eat it if smashed smooth, the banana increases the “sweet” factor you can leave it out if wanted.  Formula, breast milk, goat milk or small amounts of water (for older babies) provide added nutrition and the necessary liquid to blend and get a good consistency.  If you add baby rice cereal or cooked rice (again for older babies) it adds essential iron to the nutrition content of this meal.  The “bulk up” smoothie was a life saver for me after having PPD and both PeeWee and I got Candida (an internal yeast imbalance- that can cause raised rashes on the skin among other symptoms).  My milk production dropped drastically and PeeWee began to loose weight.  Maintaining some weight gain in the early months of life is so critical but I didn’t want to switch to formula and sacrifice her getting the healthy antibodies in moms milk.  Supplementing didn’t do the trick anyways she needed more nutrition so this smoothie was a daily staple for a solid 10 mo.  She ate it daily from about month 4- months old until almost a year.  Back to the story…]     

She gets a bit frantic about me shoveling it in her mouth and flaps her arms while smacking- mouth wide open, “WAHHH!” too slow mom- then smack, open again like a little bird. 

Meantime the Bubba had just emerged from an early morning (and yes, premature) bath time, thanks to potty training, so he was standing in the buff next to me insisting I “Wap Bubba, Mom!”

He wanted his “Nigh-night” wrapped like a cape around him.

“Wap!”

Smack!

WAHHH!

“Wap!”

Crash!

You guess it, the Bubba got wrapped, Pee Wee got smacked and Mamma got SLIMED! ICK!

The awesome thing is I didn’t even cry or yell.

With company coming over for a Bible Study and no time for anything fancy we made our simplest meal ever.  Another winner suggested by my wonderful MIL who is forever surprising me with easy, feed an army solutions for my crazy hand to hand combat of a life!  I think she must giggle when I try to plan ahead by calling her in the morning “Do you have any ideas?”  then when she does I have to call her three more times before I can get it all written down.  I have to giggle at myself when I finally sit down to read what I wrote and it goes something like this…

Boil

Drain

Smash

Add sour cream or ?

Stir

Serve

Nearly as simple as getting SLIMED!

My kids even ate thirds!

Here is where YOU link up.  You can use any post you like, it does not have to be written on Friday.  That is why it is important to put the post link not your blog link. If you need help with this just ask.  Once you have linked up leave a comment here so I don’t miss your link and visit the others leaving comments and encouragement.

Introducing Mister Linky: 

3 Comments

Filed under FAB Friday Carnval

3 responses to “FAB Friday – How mom got slimed and a smoothie to plump up baby

  1. thelumberjackswife

    I love simple recipes! I like how you wrote yours down! Now, you will have to call her again in 2 weeks when you want to make it again because you will never be able to figure it out from those directions!

    • I always come back to directions like that a couple weeks later and wonder just what it was they went to! Sounds like fun.

      I like bananas and I like avocados, but I don’t even want to think about bananas AND avocados.

Leave a Reply

