Counting my Blessings

Sometimes it’s an automatic response for me to dwell on the things I can’t have, my kids can’t eat, those aspects of my life that aren’t working… and then came Fab Friday and as I thought about what to post I realized that perspective is like hanging from my toes. All it accomplishes is clouding my vision.

God wants our worship. He requires our adoration. Not as a chore but as a response to the wonderful things he does. This world is not our home. He has a plan to restore a far greater dwelling that does not decay, disappoint or cause grief. Why worship? Because everything good comes from the Father of Lights.

All that bad junk? A consequence of our fallen world. Not God’s idea. Our idea. OUR idea, to do it on our own to make our own way, to pursue our dreams.

Look around you today. What can you praise Him for?

Of all the things Loud Kiddington can’t eat I’m praising God there are thing he can! Check out Gluten Free 4 Goofs to see what yummy breakfast treat is all over his face.

8 Comments

Filed under FAB Friday Carnval, Thru the Lens

8 responses to “Counting my Blessings

  1. Speaking of the things I don’t have. I forgot Mr. Linkey! If you have a FAB Friday post put the link in comments and I will feature you IN the post next Friday.

    I’m already breaking my new “rules”. Sigh!

  2. thelumberjackswife

    I am glad FAB Friday is back! 🙂
    http://thelumberjackswife.wordpress.com/2009/12/10/snuggle-time/
    Here’s mine!

  3. You are so right, Jess. We must always count our blessings and remember how much we have to be thankful for — God is good. Thanks for the post!

  4. Hey, it’s your blog, you can make and break all the rules you want. Must be a bug we all caught on the internet, I posted my Saturday post on Friday and forgot to write my Friday post.

    Have a good weekend, anyway!

  5. purplemoose

    What a great perspective. I’ve recently gotten into “thanksgiving” but the “praise” I have a hard time wrapping my mind around. They are related. . . but very different.

    BTW, I ran into this and thought I’d share it with you. It looks simple and pretty!

    http://www.skiptomylou.org/2009/01/28/crochet-heart-garland/

    • That’s so cute, thanks for the link. I too have a difficult time with worship. I get the musical aspect but only recently have begun to praise while I pray even if all it means is spending the first minutes being thankful. He reminds me of more blessing as I pray. That’s the cool part, it’s not up to us to get it right, just to be willing to participate. 🙂

  6. Thanks so much for sharing your heartfelt perspective. I am going through cancer testing again, the bloodwork, the PET/CT scan, etc., and as you have found out, living with something that won’t go away, can be draining, challenging. I loved and needed the encouragement today. Thanks!

  7. Pingback: Link up NEXT week for FAB Friday « Blog Schmog

Leave a Reply

