Vegetable Garden Plan 2009

What’s going in your garden?

I have not drawn up my 2010 garden yet but it’s time to order seeds in the northwest where the growing season is a scant 90 days. Make sure to read the packet so you don’t try to grow something that takes 110 days or more. Ya, I would know! 🙂 Now, I try to get varieties that mature in 80 days or less because if you loose some seedlings in your first plant you still have a little time to recover.

garden

Here is last years garden post:

I spent my weekend plotting the vegetable garden and dreaming about dirt!

Today it’s finally sunny. We’ve had so much rain the springs are swollen and taking their yearly adventure into the nearby fields.  Mud is abundant yet the ground underneith is still frozen.  The Farmer’s Alminac says we have until the middle of May before it’s okay to plant in the ground but I’m going to wait until the end of May to be sure.  I’m sure having a hard time waiting.  I just love to put on my overalls and spend hours with dirt on my knees.  That’s a good position for many reasons. On my knees I’m eye level with my little one’s, I’m close enough to the ground to smell the damp fertile earth and best of all working the dirt reminds me of how wonderfully we are made!

Today our school project is planting the seeds that we can indoors.  We are going to plant a little of everything indoors so the kids can “experiment” with what works and what doesn’t.  I’m hoping to coax some corn up early though I’m doubting wether I can get it safely transplanted.  I also don’t expect the cucumber or beans to transplant well since I haven’t had luck with that before.

Here are the heirloom seeds I purchased for my garden this year:

  • Beans, Blue Marbut:  70 days.  A colorful, tasty, southern heirloom. Colorful purplish stems and purple tint to the leaves. Tasty, purple streaked green pods.
  • Beans, Greasy Back Cornfield:  75 days.  Heirloom pole snap bean, white seeds. Grows well planted with corn and using the cornstalks as a pole to climb
  • Carrot, Coreless Amsterdam:  57 days.  Very early. Roots average 6″ long and are straight all the way to the end. Excellent for use as “Baby Carrots”.
  • Carrot, Snow White:  70 days.  Tender, creamy white
  • Corn, Black Mexican:  82 days.  6 foot stalks, with 8 to 10 rows per 7 to 8 inch ear. Starts out pure snow white and turns to purple then black. Eat as a sweet corn when white. Dates to 1863
  • Corn, Blue Pop:  100 days.  I got this from Gurneys close to 30 years ago. It was never all blue like I thought, but is brightly colored blue, yellow and other colors mixed. Ears are nice sized, pearl type.
  • Corn, Clem Bennett:  75 days.  6 to 7 foot stalks, 12 to 14 rows of yellow kernels on 9″ ears. 1 oz
  • Cucumber, Lemon:  60 days.  Super tasty globe shaped lemon colored skin
  • Cucumber, Monastic:  65 days.  Dual purpose, short, fat pickling type, cream colored when young, will also work as a small slicer
  • Garden Huckleberry 90 days.
  • Golden Zucchini:  53 days.  Bush type, bright yellow, 8 to 10 inch fruits
  • Lettuce,Black Seeded Simpson:  50 days. A chartreuse, green-yellow color.
  • Lettuce, May Queen:  50 days.  19th century heirloom, earliest butterhead type, pale green tinged with brown
  • Lettuce, Romaine:  65 days.  Erect, tightly folded plants
  • Lettuce, Waldman’s Green:  55 days.  Large, wavy, frilled leaves, a nice dark green leaf lettuce, tolerates cold weather well.
  • Peas, Alderman (Tall Telephone):  75 days.  I remember how much I enjoyed growing this variety in the cooler Springs in the Northwest. There it would reach 6 feet tall and be loaded with pods. Our rapidly changing climate here makes them shorter.
  • Pepper, (sweet) Early Niagara Giant:  64 days.  A nice, early selection of a green bell. Fruits will turn red in about 95 days
  • Pepper, (sweet) Frank’s:  56 days.  Our most productive pepper ever. Plants are very compact with a solid pack of fruits. Good for fresh use or for cooking. Turn red quickly. Fruits are a medium size, elongated bell shape. Very sweet flavor
  • Tomato, Chipollino:  mid, Ind, round, red globe, 3 oz. fruits
  • Tomato, Yellow Out Red In:  late, SD, solid 6 oz. globe, tart, the best of the keeping tomatoes
     
14 Comments

Filed under Gardening

14 responses to “Vegetable Garden Plan 2009

  1. I’m a bit envious. I miss gardening so much! Because of the very tall cedars, my yard doesn’t get very much sunshine. I have a bumper crop of moss growing in the backyard, though! I plant things on my deck, but it’s not the same as a HUGE garden full of great things to eat. Get some dirt under your nails for me!

  2. debra

    I thought I was the only one with and itchy green thumb. It’s good to know I am not alone. I was considering a smaller garden this year because of all the mosquitoes last year but since we’ve decided to go gluten free I’ll have to step it up a bit to balance out the higher cost of food. It’s a good thing I enjoy gardening. This year the children will help as an extended homeschooling study.

    • Did you notice I am gluten free too? That is a huge factor in why I garden. 🙂 Great idea, I can’t wait to see how it goes for you.

      • debra

        Why yes, indeed I did. In fact that’s how I got here. I am totally new to gluten free and it was your list of randoms that saved me from panicking over the weekend. Thank you and God Bless you for that posting. I am absorbing your knowledge and wisdom daily. I just read about “Rice Cake Pizzas” and will have to be brave in trying it since both the Pomeranian and my youngest daughter howled in reaction. ? Not sure what to expect but I like the creativity in that meal since my son is a huge do it yourself Pizza Pat.

  3. I love that you stopped by my blog and left a comment! So happy to meet a fellow BOY mom!

    Little Boys are something, aren’t they?

  4. Wow! Look at you go! That plan is impressive. My thumb is not green AT ALL. Each year I try a garden, and really compared to yours, I mean, I try a row or two of plants and then I forget about it, grow a ton of weeds and by summer’s end am thrilled with a vegetable or two. Yet, come every April, I get inspired again and try try again. Love your blog! Thanks for leaving me a comment so I could follow you back here. I will def be returning!!

  5. I so want to be a gardener…Okay, I lied. I want to reap from a garden, just not do the work. We tried gardens for several years. My idea of gardening, plant the pants from Home depot, turn on teh sprinkler aimed at the garden and wait!!! The first year we were successful. The rest were flops! Birds would get our tomatoes, rabbits ate the lettuce and let’s not talk about he bugs…and I refused pesticides! I think it’s hopeless, but I’m not giving up. This year I bought a topsy turvy! well see!!

    • debra

      I had the same experience when I lived in Vermont. I fed the deer more often then I’d have liked and the last straw was when they devoured all my carrots, tomatoes, and cabbages right before harvesting. If we hadn’t moved to Eastern Oregon I probably would have invested in some kind of security system. ? Anyway, my DH gave me an Aerogarden a couple Christmas’ ago. I like mine, there is no weeding, and no pests (unless you count the children grabbing cherry tomatoes and strawberries when you’re not looking). Only challenge there is with herbs as their roots grow into the workings and you have to clean them out occasionally. Just an idea….Let me know how your Topsy Turvy goes.

      • I’d have to have like 100 of those 🙂 I did see a homemade version once that was 5 galon buckets one inside the other and painted (so they blended in). They were quite full of plants and then could hold their own water.

        I also like Earth boxes for the same reason. Easy and water conserving.

Leave a Reply

