Why would I plant a dead tree?

As many of you know, when nicer weather hits I take every opportunity to be outside. That might mean you’ll be “seeing” less of me here.

But I thought I’d share one of my recent crazy projects.

Transplanting trees!

Our property was logged before we bought it and the only spot with decent trees is in one steep corner, farthest from the house. In that corner are a variety of decent trees, as well as tons of saplings. Everything is far too packed. So, I’ve decided, while the ground is soft, to try and relocate some of those trees.

Here’s a Fir I planted in the backyard. Taz loves to help with projects.

But what’s up with this tree? I am obsessed with this little dead tree. But why?

Well. Because of these…

And this…

Stay tuned to find out why I can’t get enough of these “dead” trees! I’ll show you pictures along the way. What a transformation this deciduous conifer makes. I love it!

6 Comments

Filed under Gardening, Thru the Lens

6 responses to “Why would I plant a dead tree?

  1. Now I am intruiged – I always thought larch was the only deciduous conifer.

  2. Wow! I had no idea you could transplant a dead tree. You’ve been teaching me lots about gardening and planting!!

  3. thelumberjackswife

    I know nothing about gardening. But cool dead tree! 🙂

  4. I don’t know much about dead trees, but I planted more lavender yesterday! Moved around a few other plants and had fun getting muddy. Love gardening, even if I have a black thumb.

    Your backyard reminds me of the forest in Montana where I grew up. It’s so beautiful!

  5. Yep, you are right! It is not really dead. The Larch (or Tamarack as the native Indians -and my Dad- say) is the only conifer that is not “evergreen”. It looses its needles in the winter and looks as good as dead! I love them and have transplanted four (AGAIN) to see how they do and hope better than my last attempt.

    They are quite picky so I did my best to choose trees from the same elevation and transplant into a shady area while they are still dormant. Cross your fingers and send up a little prayer! Hopefully I’ll have some pictures when the needles sprout (not sure that’s what you call it).

    Tamarack are such a delightful surprise in the spring! My favorite.

  6. Idaho! You are in Idaho! NORTH IDAHO near Canada!

    We STILL have snow piles in our yard here in (the mountains in) Southern California!!! We are a month or more from having buds on our trees (or at least i hope so, we lost all our fruit Memorial Day weekend 2 years ago when we had snow & a freeze). You’re not worried to have buds already?

    Of course, i’ve long known that our growing season here is much shorter than where i grew up in Montana. Altitude makes a huge difference, even if we are much closer to the equator.

    I’ve been behind on reading, but catching up. Sending you hugs! 🙂

Leave a Reply

