The two worst things about playing outdoors.

As a small aside to my post on running with sticks, the two things I am most paranoid about in life are BEES and TICKS! ACK. Yes, I’m afraid of teeny tiny bugs but not bears, moose, split open heads, poked eyes and the like.

I started writing all this in response to Gina and decided it was a good time for a new post.

So, two days ago, while I was planting trees I made a “fort” out of a large bush with arching branches. I just shored it up with some long sticks so the kids could climb under.

Around dinner we headed inside and Scarfunkle (Thing 2) started complaining that he had a scab on his head and it was bleeding. Ugh!

Being the “medical expert” in my family I called him over to investigate. Daddy doesn’t do blood.

I started pulling back his blond curls trying to find this supposed scratch when the black butt of a bug with sticky outy legs came into view, clinging onto his head for dear life. My heart stopped for a second and I shot straight in the air, throwing my hands up with a ghasp. Then I started shaking all over. I hate those little boogars!

Trying hard not to alarm my son, thankfully still standing behind him, I squeezed his shoulders and said “Don’t worry, you aren’t bleeding. Daddy will take care of this and you’ll be good to go.”

I had to swallow repulsion and choke back some tears that tried to surface, SO so thankful that Matt was home. If I hadn’t been doing the grose out dance with my stomach churning in disgust for a good half an hour after the “sighting” I would have taken a picture and given a brave tutorial on removing the grose bugs. Sorry to say I would truly cry if I had to take care of one without my husband home.

As it was I had to remind him to kill the sucker. He easily plucked it off without ever having to tell Scarfunkle what was going on but smartie pants that he is, he let the crazy bug live and simply threw it into the garbage!

I questioned the wisdom to which he said “Hon, it’s fine.”

RIGHT!?

Not being able to control my fear of a repeat visit from Mr. Tick I peeked into the garbage and just as suspected he was crawling back up the side of the bag.

Shudder!

Matt finally put me out of my misery (not really LOL) and killed the sucker.

WHEW!

Here is a funny side note. I lived in Idaho for 22 years, playing outside and camping in the woods and never once saw a tick or had one on me. Then when I got married I moved to California and in my first year there had one attach to my leg (which sent me into near hysterics) and had to get my hubby to pluck numerous ones from my dog. Since I’ve been back in Idaho (5yrs) this is my first encounter with one of those disgusting little bugs on a person in my family. We’ve had them occasionally on the dogs. So my fears are near unwarranted but oooooh do they make me squirm non-the-less.

Do you have any unexplained, possibly unreasonable fears? I don’t mean your deepest darkest, just those funny things that get your blood pumping that are mostly harmless.

11 Comments

Filed under Gardening, Motherhood Uncensored

11 responses to “The two worst things about playing outdoors.

  1. oh i hate those boogers too! we once found one on my sons head in church. i made my husband go out and take it out right then…. i was so freaked out… he missed the whole sermon trying to find a pair of tweezers or match, but finally got it out. i feel your pain!! hooray for husbands who can come to the rescue!!

  2. Ticks are everywhere here in VA. We walked 26ac on Sat. I pulled 3 off Stephen within a few hours of the walk. Then next morning after his shower found another one on his head. EVERYWHERE I tell you! If my hero or son go in the woods it’s a given they come out covered in them.
    Me personally spiders. I screm, I run, I cry, I will spray an entire can of bug stuff at just 1 if I can find a can at that giving moment.
    Yeck 😦

  3. oh ya if you didnt know, scotch tape works great to kill them. My mom taught me that. I like to see with my own eyes that they are dead. So when I pull them off I put them on a peice of tape, then fold the tape over it. They cannot breath 🙂
    Sure beats them crawling back out of the trash, or wondering if they really flushed down the drain or not.

  4. i bet i’ve been bitten by ticks 100 times in my life. they rampant in maryland. when we were kids we didn’t even know what lymes disease was so it wasn’t a big deal. didn’t even wash the bites off most of the time -just like a mosquito bite pretty much. and then I had this horrible unexplainable incident as a child…. my knees went weak on me when I was about 4 or 5. I couldn’t walk. I cried in pain often… and I woke constant. I was tired and felt terrible. they couldn’t find out what it was from… so they chalked it up to strep b/c that was the best thing they could come up with (even though I never had a positive test result/…) then a year later I had a mysterious lump on my thigh which landed me many a visit to the hospital. in retrospect it’s pretty clear it was likely lymes disease. which explains SO many problems I had as a chld and still do now. but no test shows positive that long term. that’s the weird thing about lyme.

    that said I bet 10 percent of people in Maryland have some form of lyme lol.

    yet… I’m still not horrified by ticks. snakes? heck yeah! I’m terrified they will get into my house. I don’t know why. I grew up on a farm with many a snake which never bothered me. but then I moved to suburbia and suddenly became afraid of snakes.

  5. One year we went camping during the worst tick season ever! I’m soooo paranoid of those buggars as well, though only one of our kids ever got them. I pray the kids from head to toe (prob. worse than the bugs themselves) and I don’t know how I found my son’s first tick because it looked about the size of a beauty mark and my family has plenty of them. But I guess I didn’t remember this particular beauty mark because when I went to inspect it, it lifted up a little! TICK!!! Maybe that’s why camping and hiking is not fun with me and I’m fine to let dad take them through the woods.

    • You prayed them from head to toe? I’m guessing that’s a typo but it really brings things into a new and fresh perspective. I think I’ll use that.

      “Yeah, I had this unrealistic mom fear and then I prayed the kids head to toe. You wouldn’t believe the difference!” I love it Gina! 🙂

  6. I know this is going back a little…but a friend just sent this and thought it was useful.
    Tick removal

    “I had a pediatrician tell me what she believes is the best
    way to remove a tick. This is great, because it works in
    those places where it’s some times difficult to get to with
    tweezers: between toes, in the middle of a head full of dark
    hair, etc.”

    “Apply a glob of liquid soap to a cotton ball. Cover the tick
    with the soap-soaked cotton ball and swab it for a few
    seconds (15-20), the tick will come out on its own and be
    stuck to the cotton ball when you lift it away. This
    technique has worked every time I’ve used it (and that
    was frequently, and it’s much less traumatic for the
    patient and easier for me.”

    “Unless someone is allergic to soap, I can’t see that this
    would be damaging in any way. I even had my doctor’s
    wife call me for advice because she had one stuck to her
    back and she couldn’t reach it with tweezers. She used
    this method and immediately called me back to say,
    “It worked!”

Leave a Reply

