Homeschool Essentials – IMO

Homeschooling is one of those things that everyone does a little differently. That’s actually the beauty of it. Kids of all different learning styles and parents of all different teaching personalities can work together to achieve maximum learning (hopefully). 🙂

This post is about the resources I’ve found and like. Take it or leave it!

If you are in Idaho, I highly recomment www.idahoidea.org or IDEA. It is a homeschool charter school. The idea behind a charter is that the state funds allotted to every school age child enrolled are put to work most effienciently by you for your child.

At first I was nervous about the IDEA, 🙂 thinking that I would not have freedom and authority in regards to my children and schooling at home but after I met my helper teacher I knew it was going to be good! It’s been a great two years now and I’m planning to continue next year. If you’d like more information about that just ask, I’ll email you!

When it comes to curriculum I like to have some flexibility so I don’t choose the whole package approach. Though if I did I already know I would go with Sonlight curriculum. In fact, much of what I use (even some that IDEA pays for) is in the Sonlight cores. I love the literature based learning and the fact that they incorporate great curriculum and books that are already out there into the school year.

More to come on the homeschool topic….

2 Comments

Filed under Homeschool Hubbub

2 responses to “Homeschool Essentials – IMO

  1. That’s amusing. We also have a state homeschool allotment program called IDEA here in Alaska. While not the only one, it’s the largest of such programs in the state. IDEA stands for Interior Distance Education of Alaska. What does IDAHO’s version stand for?

  2. Ha, that’s great. Ours is Idaho Distance Education Academy.

Leave a Reply

