Fun with Characterization and Casting

I’m having a blast casting for my latest novel. A work in progress (WIP). I’ve come up with some creative ways for me, a visual learner, to get a better glimpse into the different personalities so that the characters aren’t all mirrors of one another, ultimately mirroring only my thoughts and personality. How boreing would that be? 🙂

So here is a colague I made of a minor character in the story named Hope. You can see that it is in a spiral notebook. The notebook folds completely flat and had fairly thick pages that I paint on, colague on and write on. It goes everywhere with me and even keeps sermon notes, research, sometimes a shopping list or two.

I used magazines and elmers glue so it isn’t expensive but gives me a quick reference when I need a reminder. I will put notes and thoughts on this character in the handprint later.

2 Comments

Filed under My WIP

2 responses to “Fun with Characterization and Casting

  1. mel

    What a great idea Jessie! I need to know my characters more as well, and this post has inspired me:)

    • I’m so glad! I have a hard time visualizing sometimes so this helps. I actually cut pics out of magazines of people that stand out to me and save them so later I have an envelope with fun people to choose from. That way I don’t waste a whole bunch of time.

Leave a Reply

