Perspective, business, keeping house

I thought this would be a good week for me to practice perspective. I know in my head that I always have 400 times more tasks laid out than anyone can possibly accomplish in a lifetime. I caught myself grumbling at my husband about some of the things that are left undone and nagging on me. But in the same hour wanting him to be around just to talk, hang out with me and the kids and maybe even help the boys with math.

Well, hon, I had to remind myself there are only 24 hrs in a day you know!

I’ve been trying to learn the lessons of pacing and picking my battles. What really matters? That the kitchen is clean or that the kids learn and grow and my husband and I still love each other at the end of the day?

Maybe some months or some years those don’t have to be mutually exclusive but this month, this week we can’t do it all!

I’ve been picking one thing at a time that is nagging on me and tackling it, taking as many days as it takes to completion. The first task was our room. I’ve always wanted Matt and my bedroom to be a place of refuge. A sanctuary from the craziness of a busy family. It had gotten out of control with baby stuff, my projects, laundry… You know!

I am proud to say I am very close to done.

But each day has it’s own problems too. Today I woke up early, too early ;), to a load of dog doodo on the laundry room floor, a kitchen that had been overworked the night before and lay in shambles, and then a little gal with terrible diarreah from getting crackers at church this weekend. I hadn’t even had breakfast and company was coming at eleven.

Thank the Lord, the women who were coming are the kind who would have cleared their own spot to sit, swept the floor for me or fed me lunch if it was really that bad. So I had nothing to worry from them. It’s ME!

In Matthew it says to seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

I can sure attest to that.

I actually took a little break from untangling several skeins of yarn to write this post. Someone decided my yarn bag would be great fun.

I’m trying not to be so hard on myself and my kids. Trying to start my days in the Word or maybe I need to consider a different appointment with the Lord like naptime or bedtime. I love doing devotions in a multi media art journal. I wrote a funny post about that on another crazy mom day. It helps me not be so rigid, keeps me going and not self edit etc. The organic nature of art, crayons, paint, ripped up magazines or whatever get my creativity going and help stop the voice of doubt that says I haven’t read long enough or gone deep enough.

Anyway I am rambling. Just needed to do something without doing something while I “rest”! Haha!

1 Comment

Filed under Random, Reality, Ruse

One response to “Perspective, business, keeping house

  1. Lynda

    It is such a challenge to balance life! I love that you are seeking the Lord through it all. Love you so much!
    Mom G

Leave a Reply

