Super glue saves the day again.

It was half past lunchtime. We rarely use the real clock here, everything revolves around food for my boys. So, half past lunchtime and all we had left for school was math. I had to gather my wits and collect supplies so with the little one’s down the big boys set out to entertain themselves while they waited.

I shoulda’ known that the giggling couldn’t be a good sign. Then, in a flash, a crack… and no more giggling.

Scarfunkle, duly named, had whacked his noggin on the old steam trunk in my living room. As head wounds do, it bled and bled.

So much for math!

I rinsed it off in the bath to get a good look and that darn thing was so small but still spread open and wouldn’t stop bleeding. It’s a good thing this injury happened indoors so the wound was really clean! I put some antibacterial ointment on it and separated the hair.

What do do? Three hours in the ER didn’t sound real appealing so I texted my nurse friend.

Scarfunkle cut his head. Small but won’t stop bleeding. Think I could superglue it?

We decided that since he cut the back of his head there wasn’t anything cosmetic to worry about and it was probably only a 2 stitcher, plus they often use super glue in the ER… SOoooo, glue it is.

He cried and cried but told me he didn’t feel a thing. I guess it was just the though of his mom gluing his brains in. 🙂

You might remember the OTHER time I had to use super glue in a pinch. That poor dog won’t be anywhere within a mile of us if we are unloading the truck now.

Or remember Loud Kiddington’s nose fascination.

Why do these things always happen to me? 🙂

8 Comments

Filed under Motherhood Uncensored

8 responses to “Super glue saves the day again.

  1. Aww! Sorry for your little guy, AND you! Just tie em down somewhere or lock them in a padded room and no one will get hurt!! 😉

  2. Grammy Lynda

    My grandsons are lucky to have a smart thinkin’ Mom! I love the last line—“Why do these things always happen to me?” lol Because you have 3 rambunctious boys!! Hahaha I only had 2 and they have stitches and scars to prove all their mischief, that’s for sure! Superglue is great stuff.

    PS Tell him to draw a picture of it in his art book. 🙂

  3. I love how capable and confident you are as a young Mom. Just think, some moms bring their kids in for runny noses! Not Super Moms! 🙂 Way to go, Jess, you brought knowledge along with laughter today. (Wonder how many moms will be buying Super Glue for their first aid kit?)

  4. My daughter sports a nice scar on her forhead wich was glued
    Her and her brother were couch surfing. Darn coffee table got in the way.
    Glad you were able to save the day!

Leave a Reply

