Day 1 Potty Training

As if I don’t have enough things to do, I decided that Peewee is ready and willing for the potty. So today is as good as any day to start. She has been sitting on the potty for months, enjoying the attention and really trying when she does but I have not helped her regulate her urges or even paid attention to when she tends to go so it is TIME!

I have experienced that it is better to get the potty trained long before a new sibling or not to try at all until after the new baby. Each of my boys reverted when their sibling came but I think with her I have a good head start and I honestly think if I put my mind to it and make it a priority she will be trained in no time.

I’ve never trained a girl before so we’ll see but she likes undies and she doesn’t like potty and she knows what’s going on so here goes…

First (since she is showing interest other wise that would be first!) I will set an alarm for every hour and we’ll TRY again and again. I’m not planning to sit her there for long at all. If she goes, great! If she doesn’t there is always next time.

I’ve had the most success with consistency. None of the boys were trained this early. I took a little more hands off approach. I made it mandatory to “potty” (try) before naps, bed and leaving the house. Other than that I let them get to it on their own. It helped once we lived out to let them go outside. Well? 🙂 If they can see it they know what’s going on and so do I! With Peewee I don’t think I’ll take that approach. HA!

So DAY 1 – try to potty every hour. I’ll let you know how it goes. I keep forgetting that I wanted to make this a priority so if I write it down it will help me to remember. Maybe I’ll even have a month or two without daytime diapers before the newest addition arrives. 🙂 Cross your fingers.

5 Comments

Filed under Motherhood Uncensored

5 responses to “Day 1 Potty Training

  1. Sarah, Bekah, and I all made a “toilet” in the backyard when we were kids. It was behind a bush and Mom had NO idea that we were going outside. It was just such a far walk back to the house…

  2. Jessie! Just this week, I gave up after Day 2 of potty-training. I honestly don’t think Fiala gets it at all, even though she likes to sit on the potty (often, but briefly). Audrey was potty-trained at 21 months. Fi is 23, and it’s just not happening. 🙂

    BTW, for girls, they’re “panties.” I had to be corrected by a mother of girls when Audrey was little/ After years of BOYS with UNDIES, I had to learn quickly to make the switch. (Not that calling them undies is the end of the world… But, Audrey, at 4yo, is now ADAMANT about the difference in terminology between boy and girl underthings.)

    • Haha! PANTIES, I forgot. 🙂 Thanks.

      I may give up too but I’m going to try a week and see if there is any success. She has actually done both in the potty, mostly by accident but not recently.

  3. Lynda

    How was day 2?

Leave a Reply

