Dejunking-start with clothes

Wow, I can’t believe how many clothes my kids have amassed. Much of it is hand me downs and many of those were in great shape and sorely needed when they arrived, especially for my oldest. Still we have TONS of clothes.

I’ve been on a cleaning rampage lately (though lately is probably a word my husband would take exception to) and for years my sister in law, Mary, has been telling me how freeing it was to go through her boys’ closets and get down to 10 things each. Seriously? TEN?

She swore it was great and really cut down on laundry.

So, thinking she is probably right I’ve “deep cleaned” a couple times over the years, widdling it down to only the essentials. And still I wash and fold and teach the boys to fold and wash some more and teach the boys to wash some and then wash some more…. WHERE is it all coming from?

On top of all the things my kids allegedly wear (though I soon found out otherwise) there are huge boxes of clothes I’ve kept for someone, anyone really, to grow into. I have never thought about it before but this is a great way to get out of style fast and in some cases that might be a good thing! 🙂

I think of myself as a fairly in style person. Not too pretentious but not too shabby either. I guess the real test would be to ask my little sis. She probably sees me and just shakes her head. I’ll admit, comfort and price are always king of my wardrobe.

Anyway, back to the kid clothes.

Mary and my husbands sister Melissa were in town last week and I got “the talk”! They both agreed that my savy saving ways are out of control and they pep talked me into getting rid of clothes. Once I thought about it (I’ve always got to justify everything) I realized even if I had to buy some newer (in style) things for the boys at a local second hand it wouldn’t cost more than $10 or $15 per kid.

My savy saving methods that keep us way out of style really hit home when I tried to donate some clothes to Other Mothers. Love them! great prices on really nice stuff. The lady kindly sent me home with 98% of what I took in, informing me that they don’t take clothes older than 2007. YIKES, half my kids were born long before that! I’ve got stuff from WAY back in 2000 maybe even before that since I’ve never been opposed to yard sale or thrift shopping. I hung my head and carted lots of nice but old savy saved clothes than didn’t fit anyone in the right season of the year to our church thrift store.

In the end, after 3 solid weeks of laundry, almost a whole week of sorting, pulling out boxes and counting clothing, and my embarasment at the thrift store we are down ALMOST to the 10 per person rule. I couldn’t do it. I’m not strong enough Mary. So I modified it a little and allowed no more than 5 of any one type of clothing. Type as determined by me! Nice shirts, play shirts, shorts, pants etc.

Then Matt and I started on our room!

I have to say, it IS very nice to know I can do all the kids’ laundry in just two loads. That could probably even be accomplished including sheets! Even better, THEY can do all their clothes. 🙂

So all I have left to say is DO IT!

You’d be surprised what is lurking in the back of the drawers. You’d also be surprised how many clothes you wash that were never worn. I discovered that my boys think the laundry basket is a great place for clothes that don’t fit or don’t feel right. Grrrr!

Happy dejunking!

3 Comments

Filed under Motherhood Uncensored

3 responses to “Dejunking-start with clothes

  1. debra

    I enjoyed this post. We are like creatures. I too have experienced the “out of style rejection” from a local second hand store. I was quite upset over it since I am a large woman and had a difficult time finding formal maternity wear during my first pregnancy 1998. I spent a bundle on a maternity formal and then held on to it until I was finished having children. In 2002 I tried to sell it to the second hand store, who by the way was extremely limited on plus size maternity wear. I was told “that Peter Pan collar is not in fashion now.” I remember driving across the street to Salvation Army and donating five boxes of clothes. To this day I’d rather sell my “out of style” extras at a yard sale or donate it to our church then try second hand stores.

  2. Lynda

    This is definitely a time when I need to learn from my super-smart DIL! I desperately need to de-junk. I did some of it this summer but I think when I turned my back, my junk had babies… Where or where do I start and how?

Leave a Reply

