Last trimester and labor with a little bit of TMI

Please join me at my new web home JessieGunderson.com and don’t forget to like the Blog Schmog Facebook community HERE.

I feel like I’m on the big upward climb of a daunting rollercoaster. Click, click, click…. When will I reach the top? I’m afraid but elated. How long will it last? My heart beats a crazy rhythm. Oooo boy, here we goooooooooo!

I’ve written a series of posts with ramblings on pregnancy, birthing, chiropractic that works for turning babies in utero and more…. It is on my mind a lot lately. 🙂 Read the 2nd Post Choices in Fertility HERE

Thanks to Captain Obvious for taking my picture.

Last Trimester and Labor-

I caused quite a stir on facebook the other day with this…

TMI! TMI! TMI! So sorry Honey. I was begging for sympathy so I told my husband that trying to get around 8mo pregnant (after 4 other pregnancies) is like walking with a sack of flour tied to his “eh-hem”. I’m so mean!

I’m still chuckling about that one. Later I apologized and waddled off but I do think he got the picture. 🙂 He hasn’t asked why I’m grumpy since.

I hate gravity right about now.

When people ask me if I’m scared to deliver, a rollercoaster is the best way I can describe it. After having my first son in the hospital, I chose to deliver the next two, unassisted at birthing centers and the next (my only girl) at home. If all goes as planned, this little dude will enter the world, safe and sound, also at home.

Does it scare me? No. Yes.

Labor is always a bit scary but so is downhill skiing, rock climbing, rollercoaster riding. With all of these you could die or you could live with massive injuries or you could have great fun doing something that gives you an incredible rush and sense of power and life!

Life! A brand new life. It’s totally worth it. I felt robbed after my first delivery. I didn’t experience the pleasure and responsibility of allowing my body to usher my son into the world. But I know that things happen and I can’t always have my way. He is no less a blessing or miracle! Since I know the difference now, I’m sure hoping to chose the natural way once again.

I had a conversation with a good friend who is an anesthesiologist about preparing for labor and educating yourself (not relying on information fed to you) on the natural birth process. We agreed mothers should know, whether or not they choose to deliver unassisted.

He said, “If more mothers educated themselves, I’d be out of a job.”

So here I go again, having my baby in the comfort and peace of my home in my six-foot claw foot tub. I love water birth!

YIKES! I must be nuts.

Want details, just ask. I’m not shy about sharing my experiences.

21 Comments

Filed under Just Me, Motherhood Uncensored

21 responses to “Last trimester and labor with a little bit of TMI

  1. Gina

    I entertained a water birth… Really, I did. Thought IF I ever had an at home birth, that would be the way to go, though I’m puzzled as to the entire process in your tub. Do you deliver all yourself? It doesn’t seem big enough for more than mom and baby!! But since I ended on a great note with a long labor aided by an epidural that actually worked (opposed to the earlier ones that didn’t) I don’t think I’ll be trying birthing again!

    • Good for you Gina. I love when what we hoped for works. And your kiddo’s are amazing and adorable!

      I think you know some of my birth stories. But definitely after my first (with an epidural-which worked fine) the scarriest thing about delivering naturally was the part I feared I hadn’t experienced. I was delighted to discover that I HAD experienced the worst of it and that pressure you feel, it’s there either way. That’s pretty much the most uncomfortable part after transition. Pushing is a huge relief.

      Waterbirth is amazing! I planned a waterbirth with my 2nd son but things didn’t work out as planned. I delivered him naturally but not under water.

      The last two were successful and wonderful water births. And yes, its just me and baby but the midwives and hubby are right there on their sore little knees helping in any way they can. Many people opt for a blow up pool in the middle of a large room but I like my tub. Oh… it helps to have a set of suction cup handles (must be hospital grade suction 🙂 ) to put on the side of the tub for pushing.

      Entering the water literally lowers your pain by a solid 2 knotches. For instance, if you enter at 8 on a scale of 1-10, gravity relieves pain to where I could honestly say I delivered at a 6. Not to mention the benefits for baby and the science behind releasing toxins and adrenaline. Which can add to pain and worry and discomfort.

  2. BEST COUSIN EVER

    I love this post, and the biggest thing that sticks out for me….is how bad gma loo’s basement needs redecorating….I think I just found my summer project!

    • NICE! Yep, but it’s funny how well it matches my outfit. LOL

      BTW- you were one of the inspirations for writing these posts. You did AWESOME in labor in spite of circumstances and in the end, prayer, knowledge, determination and pure guts won!

      • BEST COUSIN EVER

        I honestly don’t know if it was guts and determination so much as it was just being incredibly sick of being pregnant….I wanted that kid out! Although, I have to say when the going got tough, and my dad was freaked out at the c-section talk, I felt more calm…this kid was surrounded by good family great doctors and nurses who I didn’t hate (I am thankful for that shift change at the end), and my 4’11” cousin who was on #4, I just knew I could do it.
        And knowing I’d get a turkey sandwich when I was through certainly helped 🙂

      • BEST COUSIN EVER

        Oh, and I am extremely flattered at your new photos up there 🙂 I’m gonna take brand new baby photos and I’m stoked!

  3. What exactly do you mean by unassisted? No midwife or anything? You just pop them out yourself?!

    • Haha! Not DRUG assisted. I’d never attempt unATTENDED (on purpose at least) though I am not afraid of that. I’ve learned so much and really, fear is a huge factor contributing to pain. So I try to remember everything incredible and fun about labor.

      My last labor was crazy easy and we (midwife, hubby and I) laughed and watched funny movies in my living room through most of it.

  4. I had both of my children in a hospital. The second (and last) was a very short labour. I think I had contractions at home for about 2 hours and then she arrived 40 minutes after we got to the hospital. Everybody thinks that was easy – but I swear it hurt more than my first labour, which lasted about 9 hours.
    The only thing fun I can remember about the 2nd one is that when I arrived at the hospital the admissions team decided that I was about to produce a very small baby (she was early) and insisted on checking that there was a special care space available. If there had not been a space, I would have been sent via ambulance to another hospital. Then, when my daughter was born she weighed an amazing 7 pounds and the midwife asked “where were you hiding all that baby?”

    • I agree that the faster labors weren’t easier. “Fast and Furious” is how I describe my 2nd birth. He was the one that missed the tub. Ha! I had the whole intense pressure, ring of fire, then I tore and lastly hemorrhaged. But I can’t complain because it was all pretty fast and even after all that I immediately said, “I did it! I could do that again!” And everyone laughed.

      To this day, he is my “extreme sports” dude (hence his nickname, Scarfunkle) and while I was pregnant he was always trying to ski jump right out of my belly!

      I love those hiding babies. I’ve always been told my babies will be small so I’m allowed to eat ice cream for the last month. LOL

      I know with that big belly in the pic you can’t imagine the mix up. 🙂 But I’m 4’11” and right around 100 lb when not pregnant (scrawny genes) and my babies have been 7lb 5oz (x2), 8lb 6oz, 7lb 7oz and TBD

      BTW- I put my picture up with you in mind. 🙂 How’s my attire? Lol

  5. karen meyer

    you are my hero!!!!! you absolutely amaze me. i didn’t realize that you only had one hospital delivery. i have nothing but the utmost respect for the women who can do an unmedicated delivery, let alone a home birth. (for me, it was not an option given my medical history and the fact that i had to deliver early due to bicornuate uterus– i had to have c-section and repeat x3.)

    • Yeah, I know. 😦 It’s not one size fits all. You are awesome, Karen! God gives us each a different journey.

      My midwife would not have been able to deliver in your circumstance either. One of the first and most important parts of early appointments is to identify high risk pregnancies. If you are high risk and there aren’t safe alternatives available, you won’t be able to be considered for delivery away from the hospital.

      I consider myself blessed but not better!

  6. Jessie,

    Ah! The Big Day approaches. The best of wishes to you!

    Carrie

  7. I like the ice cream colours of your outfit, but much more than that, I like the composition of the photo. The stripes on your cardigan are echoed by your stairs, and the green in your dress just about matches the skirting board going up beside the stairs. Awesome! Most of the ‘daily outfit’ posters don’t match their interior design. Yours is a leap forward.

    • Or maybe a leap backward, as my cousin pointed out that Grandma’s basement could use some updating! Teehee 😉 Thanks and that lovely picture was taken by none other than Captain Obvious! He is getting pretty good, if I might say so myself.

  8. ali marie ahmed

    My goodness I didn’t know you were expecting!!! Congrats!!! By the way, this is Yasmine’s sis… I had to visit your Bloggy! You are soooo sweet, clever and Yas talks about you all the time! God Bless you, and you family! Can’t wait to read your whole website 🙂

  9. Pingback: Choices in Fertility | Blog Schmog

  10. Pingback: Posterior Presentation and Chiropractic | Blog Schmog

Leave a Reply

